How Much Money Do I Spend in a Week?


The other day, I was watching a YouTube video by MissRemiAshten titled “What I spend in a Week as a 24 Year-Old.” Now, I’m not a vlogger, a 24-year old, nor do I live in Los Angeles. In fact, Remi and I are basically on opposite ends of the spectrum. I live in a college house on the outskirts of Boston, I make about $10 per week, at most, and I expenses upwards of $20-$30 usually give me a headache. That being said, I don’t pay any bills because I live on campus, so I can take that out of the equation. Here are some other quick facts about my lifestyle before I get into the blog:

-I don’t have a car, so I don’t put in any weekly money for gas. However, I do have to rely on public transit to get to work, which is a weekly expense for me.

-I have campus “dining dollars” that are pre-paid as a part of my tuition, so I’m not going to include dining dollars or meal plans as part of my weekly expenses.

-I pay for two subscriptions, Amazon Prime and Spotify Premium, which are taken out of my account once monthly. I also have a Fab Fit Fun subscription, but that is only billed quarterly. 

If I think of any other important information, I’ll edit it here. Now that that’s out of the way, let’s get into it!


I didn’t leave campus today, and I ate all of my meals at the dining hall, so I didn’t end up spending any money. Unless I’m going out with my friends, I usually don’t have any reason to spend money on the weekends, so this was a pretty typical day for me. 

Daily Total: $0


Today is my monthly Analog meeting, so I bought some snacks at Walgreen’s with Lily for a total of $7.75. It was a bit more expensive than I would have liked, but it was still much cheaper than buying a pizza, which was my original plan. Per usual, I ate all my meals on campus so I didn’t have to worry about buying food or drink for any other purpose.

Daily Total: $7.75



My train fare from campus to work is $2.40, so round-trip, $4.80. I also stopped at Tatte Bakery to buy a caramel latte, because I had an hour to kill before work and I wanted to stop somewhere to get some blogging done. My small latte cost $4.65 (gasp), but it was delicious. I ate breakfast at Lasell and brought lunch from home, so I didn’t have to pay for any other food or drink today. 

Daily Total: $9.45


Today I had three back-to-back classes on campus, and I only ate at the dining hall, so I didn’t spend any money today!

Daily Total: $0


Train fare for work is $4.80 round trip. I also made my morning coffee at work, so that was free! I’m also lucky enough that my place of employment provides lunch for us, so I always have access to that for free as well. 

Daily Total: $4.80


Today I only had one class, and I used meal swipes and dining dollars for all my meals/coffee. I did have to pick up a couple of toiletries at the campus store today, and my total was $6.48 on my card.

Daily Total: $6.48


I was going to go out today, but I ended up feeling like shit and stayed home in my room instead. It ended up being a good choice, because I think my body and my mind really needed to rest after the crazy week I had. And, of course, it’s always a good idea for me to save my money.

Daily Total: $0


I have to say, I’m pretty impressed with the fact that I lived off $22 this week! Obviously my housing and food is paid for as part of my tuition, but I still think I did a decent job managing my other expenses. The only “frivolous” I would say I made would be the coffee from Tatte, but hey, it was pretty delicious. In the future, I’ll probably continue to bring food and coffee from home so I can continue to cut unnecessary costs. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s