Tuesday, February 4

Good morning, everybody! Even though I had to be up quite early today, I’m feeling pretty energized and good about my day. I know I said this before, but I actually really enjoy getting up early four days a week. It makes the days feel longer and more meaningful, in a way.

Right now I’m drinking my morning coffee and trying to warm up for the day. I am at my internship from 10-4, and then I’m going to get dinner with my friend Allison at 5:30. It should be a pretty uneventful day. After dinner I’m going to get some homework done, and then I’d like to take an evening walk around my campus. I know some people would be spooked by the prospect of going for a walk around their campus at night, but I actually rather like it. I live in a safe area, and it makes me happy to engage with nature and spend some quality time with myself. 


Wednesday, February 5

IMG_8632.jpg

Right now, it’s about 10am and I’m sitting in the campus center. I normally have a class at 9:30, but for some fortunate reason, it was cancelled today. I’m certainly not complaining! Having three back-to-back classes really wears you down.

I’m currently listening to a pretty wide mixture of music, ranging from Michael Nyman’s intense contemporary instrumentals to more light-hearted songs like Margaritaville by Jimmy Buffet. I’ve completed and scheduled two posts for the blog, which is fantastic, and I finished all my homework for the week, so I don’t really have anything I need to be working on. 


Thursday, February 6

Wow, this week is flying by. I’ve been keeping busy per usual, juggling my blog, Analog, my internship, my classes, and still finding time for sleep and socialization. I would say things have been pretty placid and harmonized lately- in my professional/academic life, at least. In my personal life, I’m going through typical uphill battles that most young women go through in their lives; feeling like someone is playing games with me, taking advantage of me, etc. Valentine’s Day being in February is a pretty overwhelming reminder that I’m single yet another year. I’d like to find someone to share my life with, but I’m also conscious of the fact that things will fall into place when they’re meant to. I have feelings for a couple of people right now, a boy and a girl (living that bisexual life), and one of them is blowing me off while the other one is being fair and invested in me. Hopefully, one of them will pan out, but honestly, who knows what will happen?

lol

The other day, I was watching a YouTube video by MissRemiAshten titled “What I spend in a Week as a 24 Year-Old.” Now, I’m not a vlogger, a 24-year old, nor do I live in Los Angeles. In fact, Remi and I are basically on opposite ends of the spectrum. I live in a college house on the outskirts of Boston, I make about $10 per week, at most, and I expenses upwards of $20-$30 usually give me a headache. That being said, I don’t pay any bills because I live on campus, so I can take that out of the equation. Here are some other quick facts about my lifestyle before I get into the blog:

-I don’t have a car, so I don’t put in any weekly money for gas. However, I do have to rely on public transit to get to work, which is a weekly expense for me.

-I have campus “dining dollars” that are pre-paid as a part of my tuition, so I’m not going to include dining dollars or meal plans as part of my weekly expenses.

-I pay for two subscriptions, Amazon Prime and Spotify Premium, which are taken out of my account once monthly. I also have a Fab Fit Fun subscription, but that is only billed quarterly. 

If I think of any other important information, I’ll edit it here. Now that that’s out of the way, let’s get into it!


SUNDAY

I didn’t leave campus today, and I ate all of my meals at the dining hall, so I didn’t end up spending any money. Unless I’m going out with my friends, I usually don’t have any reason to spend money on the weekends, so this was a pretty typical day for me. 

Daily Total: $0


MONDAY

Today is my monthly Analog meeting, so I bought some snacks at Walgreen’s with Lily for a total of $7.75. It was a bit more expensive than I would have liked, but it was still much cheaper than buying a pizza, which was my original plan. Per usual, I ate all my meals on campus so I didn’t have to worry about buying food or drink for any other purpose.

Daily Total: $7.75


TUESDAY

E762527F-53D2-4553-BE35-8364E981ECA7.JPG

My train fare from campus to work is $2.40, so round-trip, $4.80. I also stopped at Tatte Bakery to buy a caramel latte, because I had an hour to kill before work and I wanted to stop somewhere to get some blogging done. My small latte cost $4.65 (gasp), but it was delicious. I ate breakfast at Lasell and brought lunch from home, so I didn’t have to pay for any other food or drink today. 

Daily Total: $9.45


WEDNESDAY

Today I had three back-to-back classes on campus, and I only ate at the dining hall, so I didn’t spend any money today!

Daily Total: $0


THURSDAY

Train fare for work is $4.80 round trip. I also made my morning coffee at work, so that was free! I’m also lucky enough that my place of employment provides lunch for us, so I always have access to that for free as well. 

Daily Total: $4.80


FRIDAY

Today I only had one class, and I used meal swipes and dining dollars for all my meals/coffee. I did have to pick up a couple of toiletries at the campus store today, and my total was $6.48 on my card.

Daily Total: $6.48


SATURDAY

I was going to go out today, but I ended up feeling like shit and stayed home in my room instead. It ended up being a good choice, because I think my body and my mind really needed to rest after the crazy week I had. And, of course, it’s always a good idea for me to save my money.

Daily Total: $0


WEEKLY TOTAL: $22

I have to say, I’m pretty impressed with the fact that I lived off $22 this week! Obviously my housing and food is paid for as part of my tuition, but I still think I did a decent job managing my other expenses. The only “frivolous” I would say I made would be the coffee from Tatte, but hey, it was pretty delicious. In the future, I’ll probably continue to bring food and coffee from home so I can continue to cut unnecessary costs. 

It’s been a crazy 2019 so far, filled with lots of ups, downs, and in-betweens. As much I love punching out articles about fashion, psychology, and media, I also think it’s nice just to keep you in the loop about my life, and what’s going on in my turbulent, young world. And so, although I’m sure a lot of people aren’t interested in this, I’m just going to catch you up to speed on all my exciting (and not so exciting) life happenings!

IMG_8941.JPG

My birthday admittedly did not start out on a very glamorous note. I’ll try to keep the TMI low, but basically, I spent the first couple hours of the day sitting in my campus doctor’s office, getting examined for YET ANOTHER yeast infection. Yeast infections are very treatable and go away within a couple days, but still, having a plastic speculum shoved up your lady bits at 9am is not a fun way to spend the day. So, there was that.

Exam rooms and doctors give me a lot of anxiety, especially when there’s pain involved. I spent that morning (and a few hours afterwards) feeling really icky and nauseous, probably from the leftover anxiety. Luckily, my day perked up when my mom came to get me and bring me home for the weekend, so I wouldn’t have to spend it by myself!

Actually, the first hour of our travel was not too pleasant, either, but that was only because the traffic was ridiculous, and I was still feeling slightly nauseous. Alas, the good outweighed the bad, and I was honestly just so happy to be spending time with my lovely mom. We stopped at the mall on the way home- I needed new underwear, because my fat ass can no longer be contained in a size medium (again, sorry for TMI), and then I shopped for a birthday gift for my brother. His birthday is thirteen days after mine, so we usually celebrate them on the same day. I ended up getting him a very dashing button-up shirt, which my brother will appreciate, as he is the most boring person to shop for on Satan’s green earth.

When we finally got home around 6:00pm, I was very happily greeted by my dog, Duke! You’ve probably seen Duke a few times on this blog, and he’ll be making quite a few appearances in the future, too. My mom, dad, brother, and I went to my favorite restaurant for dinner that night, which is called The Friendly Toast. If you’re ever in the Boston area, I highly recommend you check it out! They have a lot of delicious breakfast, diner-style food, and additionally, they have a ton of great vegan options. It’s so nice when the four of us in my immediate family are all together, because my parents are divorced, and it’s quite rare for us to all be in the same room. In regards to birthday gifts, my dad gave me a very generous Ulta gift card, and my mom gave me a cute little succulent, who I affectionately named “Peepee”. There’s no real reason why that stuck out as the perfect name for me, but I’m happy with it. I also treated myself to a birthday gift, and downloaded The Sims 4 Seasons expansion pack. So, that has taken up quite a bit of my free time this past weekend, and I have no regrets about it.

So, in a nutshell, I had a very divine, relaxing birthday, spent with my family and my favorite doggo. I feel like I definitely deserved a weekend off, because I’ve been really busy with wrapping up school assignments and such. For one of my fashion classes, I had to do a set of ten “fashion journals”, which examined three garments from every decade since 1900. It’s kind of hard to explain in text, but I have been posting the journals on my blog if you’re interested in taking a peak!

I’ve also been in the process of changing my major from Fashion Communications to a new, individualized major- Digital Media + Social Justice. Because I am proposing the major and essentially building it myself, I’ve had to do a ton of planning between writing proposals to the dean, and making a detailed plan of every single class I intend on taking before I graduate. As of right now, I am set to graduate in the Spring of 2020- about a year from now. It’s very exciting, but also, adulting is scary! I’m graduating with my bachelors in three years instead of four, because I earned college credits through advanced courses I took in high school. It’s mind boggling to me that at barely the age of 21, I am going to have a college degree! Ah!

Anyway, that’s pretty much my life update for the time being. I love posting specific articles pertaining to my interests and hobbies, but sometimes, it’s just nice to catch up. I’m looking forward to the end of the semester, and coming home for summer break on April 30th. My summer goals are to get my driver’s license, start working out a couple days a week, and make a bit of money as a dog walker in my apartment building. I’m also going to be posting articles on a new schedule for the summer- Tuesdays and Thursdays. Don’t worry, come next September, I’ll be back to my thrice-a-week posting schedule!

Let me know if you like these kinds of personal blog articles. Thanks for tuning in, and I’ll see you again tomorrow with yet another fashion journal!

Coming up next: Fashion Journal: 1960-1969